Species Schreinbachites retroversicostatus (CANAVARI)
Author
Group
Horizon
Zone
Stage
Description

After smooth inner coils, a clear ribbing sets in. The ribs are initially bulging and straight, later slightly convexly curved and more or less clearly retroradiate. A nodule stage (comparable to many other alpine species) is not present. The bending of the ribs becomes more pronounced with age. They start at the suture, run over the flank and end in the secondary keels.
This ribbing is only regular on the inner coils, characteristic is an extremely "restless" sculpture: seemingly randomly stronger and weaker ribs occur, the distance of the ribs to each other varies, also rib unions are possible.
A raised keel, often projecting beyond the coils, accompanied by deep furrows, is developed very early. In larger shells, secondary keels are then developed; their appearance can be seen very well in the illustrations.
The cross-section of the windings is always much wider than high, which is quite typical for this species. The largest coil width is usually in the middle of the flank. Only in very large specimens can the ratio Wh:Wb become 1:1.
BLOOS gives a detailed discussion of the genus and species, including the loben line, which is very simplified in Schreinbachites and thus similar to Vermiceras and Gyrophioceras.

* Description according to Bloos (1994) and Kment (2000), supplemented

Compare

Compared to Vermiceras (Epammonites) cordieri, the secondary keels are less sharply marked and the ribbing is completely different.
In small specimens with almost regular ribbing there is a very high risk of confusion with other small Arietitidae (e.g. Vermiceras (Gyrophioceras)). However, the very large width of the coils and the irregular ribbing is then the main criterion for finding the species. Alpinocerats with a similar cross-section like A. salinarius or A. perspiratus have a less strongly developed keel and a more complicated lobed line.

Dimension

Dimensions with D= 55mm:
Nw % v. D: ca. 53%
Wh % v. D: ca. 24%
Wb % v. D: ca. 31%

Literature
  • 1882 Arietites retroversicoststus n.sp. – CANAVARI S. 177, Taf. 20.13-14
  • 1890 Arietites anastreptoptychus n.f. – WÄHNER S. 243, Taf. 46.3-5
  • 1994 Schreinbachites retroversicoststus Canavari – BLOOS S. 46, Taf. 4.18, Abb. 11,13,14
  • 2000 Schreinbachites retroversicoststus Canavari – KMENT S. 208, Abb. 45
Images

Contact form

Do you have questions, suggestions, complaints, criticism, topic or improvement requests or cooperation proposals? Then write us a few lines and we will take care of your request as soon as possible.


    captcha

    hettangian ammonites

    © 2024 hettangium.de

    All rights reserved.

    ------------------------------------

    Imprint | Privacy policy

    Collection notes

    Terms of use

    Become guest author

    Log in with your credentials

    Forgot your details?

Base
Art (species)

Schreinbachites retroversicostatus CANAVARI

Gruppe

Arieten

Horizont

marmoreum

Zone

marmoreum-Zone

Stufe

Oberes Hettangium

Hinweis

Beschreibung nach Bloos (1994) und Kment (2000), ergänzt

Beschreibung

Nach glatten Innenwindungen setzt eine deutliche Berippung ein. Die Rippen sind anfangs wulstig und gerade, später leicht konvex gebogen und stehen mehr oder weniger deutlich retroradiat. Ein Knötchenstadium (vergleichbar wie bei vielen anderen alpinen Arten) ist nicht vorhanden. Die Biegung der Rippen wird mit zunehmendem Alter immer deutlicher. Sie beginnen an der Naht, verlaufen über die Flanke und münden in die Nebenkiele.
Diese Berippung ist nur auf den inneren Windungen regelmäßig, charakteristisch ist eine äußerst „unruhige“ Skulptur: scheinbar zufällig kommen kräftigere und schwächere Rippen vor, der Abstand der Rippen zueinander schwankt, auch Rippenvereinigungen sind möglich.
Schon sehr früh ist ein erhabener, oft über die Windungen hinausragender Kiel entwickelt, der von tiefen Furchen begleitet ist. Bei größeren Gehäusen sind dann Nebenkiele entwickelt; ihr Aussehen ist auf den Abbildungen sehr gut zu sehen.
Der Windungsquerschnitt ist immer viel breiter als hoch, das ist ganz typisch für diese Art. Die größte Windungsbreite liegt meist in der Flankenmitte. Erst bei sehr großen Exemplaren kann das Verhältnis Wh:Wb 1:1 werden.
BLOOS gibt eine ausführliche Diskussion der Gattung und Art, auch der Lobenlinie, die bei Schreinbachites sehr vereinfacht ist und damit ähnlich Vermiceras und Gyrophioceras ist.

Vergleiche

Im Vergleich zu Vermiceras (Epammonites) cordieri sind die Nebenkiele weniger scharf markiert und die Berippung ist eine völlig andere.
Bei kleinen Exemplaren mit fast regelmäßiger Berippung besteht eine sehr große Verwechslungsgefahr mit anderen kleinen Arietitiden (z.B. Vermiceras (Gyrophioceras)). Die sehr große Windungsbreite und die unregelmäßige Berippung ist dann aber das Hauptkriterium zur Artfindung. Alpinoceraten mit ähnlichem Querschnitt wie A. salinarius oder A. perspiratus besitzen einen weniger kräftig ausgebildeten Kiel und eine kompliziertere Lobenlinie.

Abmessung

Abmessungen bei D= 55mm:
Nw % v. D: ca. 53%
Wh % v. D: ca. 24%
Wb % v. D: ca. 31%

Literatur

1882 Arietites retroversicoststus n.sp. – CANAVARI S. 177, Taf. 20.13-14

1890 Arietites anastreptoptychus n.f. – WÄHNER S. 243, Taf. 46.3-5

1994 Schreinbachites retroversicoststus Canavari – BLOOS S. 46, Taf. 4.18, Abb. 11,13,14

2000 Schreinbachites retroversicoststus Canavari – KMENT S. 208, Abb. 45