Description

The telum is large, spindle-shaped and slender. It thins remarkably quickly adorally (towards the mouth). The top view is symmetrical and spindle-shaped. In profile the telum is clearly asymmetrical, more convex on the ventral side than on the dorsal.
An apical angle cannot be measured because the telum tapers rapidly and somewhat rounded towards the tip.
The cross-section of the telum is mostly oval, only in a few places circular, thus mostly clearly compressed. A. alpinus reaches its greatest thickness behind the middle (at the latest at the middle).
The telum is completely smooth, without sculptural elements. Spindle-shaped depressions occur, the purpose of which is not yet clear. There are specimens where the transition to the phragmocone is preserved: the diameter slowly increases again and chambers are clearly visible. We assume that other phragmocomes with the same opening angle can also be placed with A. alpinus. Mojsisovics already grouped Tela with corresponding phragmocones to Aulacoceras liasicum.
Atractites alpinus is particularly common in the Lienbach Subformation above the marmoreum crust, although not in all profiles. It is therefore possible that, on the one hand, A. alpinus has reached its maximum abundance or, on the other hand, that the living conditions for coleoid cephalopods were particularly favourable at the time in some areas close to the reef.
The species first appears just below the marmoreum crust in the horizon of Alpinoceras haueri.
Remarkable is the very large diameter of some phragmocones (even larger than in the lower Hettangium) that can be found. Chamber parts with a diameter of 6.5cm are possible. Provided it is the same species, one can conclude a total length of telum + phragmocone of at least 70-120cm! Mojsisovics already mentions tela with 22cm length. One with over 30 cm is pictured here by us.
The specimen illustrated in 1871 by Mojsisovics on Taf. IV, 4 shows a pathology, the cause of which is not clear. At first glance, it looks like a tectonic offset. Mariotti & Pignatti have re-described the original as "Atractites sp. 2 aff. A. alpinus Gümbel (1993, Taf. 2, 1-2).
A telum with identical growth has been found in the Karwendel Mountains! It is also pictured.

* Description according to Mariotti & Pignatti (1996), supplemented

Compare

Atractites jeletzkyi is rounder in cross-section and reaches its greatest thickness from the middle or towards the front end.
The telum of Atractites alpinus is basically thicker and the tapering at the apical (posterior) end is faster compared to the predominantly less large tela of A. jeletzkyi.
The top view and profile of A. alpinus are clearly different from those of A. jeletzkyi.
Atractites jeletzkyi also occurs much earlier (in the Lower Hettangian).

Dimension

Literature
  • 1871 Aulacoceras liasicum Gümberl sp. – Mojsisovics, S. 55(15), Taf.IV, 4-7
  • 1993 Atractites aff. alpinus Gümbel – Mariotti & Pignatti Taf. 1, 1-2
  • 1996 Atractites alpinus Gümbel – Mariotti & Pignatti, S. 212, Fig1
Images

Contact form

Do you have questions, suggestions, complaints, criticism, topic or improvement requests or cooperation proposals? Then write us a few lines and we will take care of your request as soon as possible.


    captcha

    hettangian ammonites

    © 2022 hettangium.de

    All rights reserved.

    ------------------------------------

    Imprint | Privacy policy

    Collection notes

    Terms of use

    Become guest author

    Log in with your credentials

    Forgot your details?

Base
Art (species)

Atractites alpinus GÜMBEL

Gruppe

Atractiten

Horizont

cylindricum, atanatense, marmoreum, seebachi, proaries, frigga/megastoma, naumanni/johnstoni, costosum/tenerum, planorbis, imitans/neumayri, calliphyllum, strongolum, angulocostatum, pacificum, tilmanni, spelae, haueri

Zone

megastoma-Zone, planorbis-Zone, tilmanni-Zone, rotiforme-Zone

Stufe

Oberes Hettangium, Unteres Sinemur

Hinweis

Beschreibung nach Mariotti & Pignatti (1996), ergänzt

Beschreibung

Das Telum ist großwüchsig, spindelförmig und schlank. Es wird adoral (mundwärts) auffallend schnell dünner. Die Draufsicht ist symmetrisch und spindelförmig. Im Profil ist das Telum deutlich asymmetrisch, auf der ventralen Seite konvexer als auf der dorsalen.
Ein Apikalwinkel kann nicht gemessen werden, weil das Telum rasch und etwas gerundet zur Spitze zuläuft.
Der Querschnitt des Telum ist meistens oval, nur an wenigen Stellen kreisrund, meist also deutlich zusammengedrückt. Die größte Dicke erreicht A. alpinus hinter der Mitte (spätestens bei der Mitte).
Das Telum ist völlig glatt, ohne Skulpturelemente. Es kommen spindelförmige Vertiefungen vor, deren Zweck noch nicht geklärt ist. Es gibt Exemplare, wo der Übergang zum Phragmokon erhalten ist: der Durchmesser nimmt langsam wieder zu und es sind deutlich Kammern zu erkennen. Wir gehen davon aus, dass andere Phragmokome mit demselben Öffnungswinkel ebenfalls zu A. alpinus gestellt werden können. Bereits Mojsisovics hat Tela mit entsprechenden Phragmokonen zu Aulacoceras liasicum zusammengefasst.
Besonders häufig ist Atractites alpinus in der Lienbacher Subformation über der marmoreum-Kruste zu finden, allerdings auch nicht in allen Profilen. Es kann also sein, dass einerseits A. alpinus sein Häufigkeitsmaximum erreicht hat oder andererseits die Lebensbedingungen für coleoide Cephalopoden zu der Zeit in einigen riffnahen Gebieten besonders günstig waren.
Die Art tritt zuerst knapp unter der marmoreum-Kruste im Horizont des Alpinoceras haueri auf.
Bemerkenswert ist der sehr große Durchmesser mancher Phragmokone (noch größer als im unteren Hettangium), die gefunden werden können. Kammerteile mit 6,5cm Durchmesser sind möglich. Vorausgesetzt, es handelt sich um dieselbe Art, kann man auf eine Gesamtlänge von Telum + Phragmokon von wenigstens 70-120cm schließen! Bereits Mojsisovics erwähnt Tela mit 22cm Länge. Eines mit über 30 cm ist hier von uns abgebildet.
Das 1871 bei Mojsisovics auf Taf. IV, 4 abgebildete Exemplar weist eine Pathologie auf, deren Ursache nicht geklärt ist. Auf den ersten Blick sieht es aus wie ein tektonsicher Versatz. Mariotti & Pignatti haben das Original nochmal als „Atractites sp. 2 aff. A. alpinus Gümbel abgebildet (1993, Taf. 2, 1-2).
Im Karwendelgebirge ist ein Telum mit identischer Verwachsung gefunden worden! Es ist auch abgebildet.

Vergleiche

Atractites jeletzkyi ist im Querschnitt runder und erreicht die größte Dicke ab der Mitte oder zum vorderen Ende hin.
Das Telum von Atractites alpinus ist grundsätzlich dicker und die Zuspitzung am apikalen (hinteren) Ende erfolgt schneller im Vergleich zu den überwiegend weniger großen Tela von A. jeletzkyi.
Die Draufsicht und das Profil von A. alpinus sind deutlich verschieden zu denen von A. jeletzkyi.
Atractites jeletzkyi tritt außerdem viel früher (im Unter-Hettangium) auf.

Abmessung

Literatur

1871 Aulacoceras liasicum Gümberl sp. – Mojsisovics, S. 55(15), Taf.IV, 4-7
1993 Atractites cf. alpinus Gümbel – Mariotti & Pignatti Taf. 1, 1-2
1996 Atractites alpinus Gümbel – Mariotti & Pignatti, S. 212, Fig1